doggie stress

Maya Louphoto © 2005 Bruce | more info (via: Wylio)My darling daughter has a dog. This dog is highly sensitive. The dog has severe anxiety issues. Her anxiety will cause gastrointestinal distress. It is not pleasant. Of course, the dog is having issues now, when none of the other humans are home. So, I’m left to deal with her symptoms. I wish she were less stressed. We have another dog who is not prone to the same stress. I know that dogs can be different.

Sometimes I wish I were different as well. There are things I wish I could change. Maybe you feel the same way. I’ve always wanted to be tall with green eyes and long red hair. While I may be able to alter things about my appearance, my hair is never going to be long. I am never going to be tall. That is just my reality.

Many of us spend an incredible amount of time wishing that things were different. We wish our family, dogs, selves, situations, relationships, jobs, or cultures were different. We fantasize about a different life. The truth is what we have now. We need to accept where we are before we can consider changes. It may be that there are some things that are just a part of our lives, such as anxiety or height challenges. There is nothing we can do about some situations in our lives.

Accept where you are. Accept who you are. Then, prayerfully consider when and how you can affect the changes you want in life. While I cannot teach the dog stress-reducing techniques, I can spend time with her. When I spend time with her, she is more relaxed. I cannot alter my height, but I do like to wear higher heels which make me feel taller.

Leave a Reply

