Snapping Snaps

Green beansphoto ¬© 2007 zoyachubby | more info (via: Wylio)¬†Summer memories are swirling around in my mind right now. I am snapping snap beans. Yes, most of the world seems to call “snaps” green beans, but they are “snap beans” to me. That is what my family calls them, and I just learned that is what they are. In restaurants, I order “green beans”, so I don’t cause confusion. I know that they are really snaps, no matter what the grocery store labels call them.

In order to prepare fresh snaps, the ends must be snapped off. That is what I am doing. I’m snapping the ends off of our fresh snaps. As a child, I remember snapping snaps as an evening activity. My grandparents had a huge garden. We would pick, prepare, and can snaps. I don’t know how many my parents or grandmother canned, but my job was snapping. I remember sitting on my grandparents’ back porch snapping away with the two of them. I remember watching television with my parents and snapping the snaps. It was not an elaborate activity. It was something that needed to be done, but it was of my most cherished childhood memories.

It is in the simple things that we build relationships. It is the ordinary moments we find our life long memories. We may recall the highlights as well, but it seems that the most heart-warming memories are the everyday moments. So often we look for the big event, but maybe we need more regular moments spent with those we love. Instead of trying to make huge moments that will leave lasting impressions, maybe we just need a little more time doing everyday things. Take some time to look around. Are there people that you want to put into your memory bank? Are there people you want to remember you? Maybe you should grab a couple of pans and invite them over to snap some snaps. It is in the ordinary that we find extraordinary love and memories.

Leave a Reply

