Learning Lessons

2004-2008 Toyota Prius photographed in Bethesd...

Image via Wikipedia

My battery is dead.  The battery in my car is dead, not my personal energy level.  This would be frustrating under most circumstances, but my car is a hybrid.  A dead battery in a hybrid vehicle is complicated.  Add to this complication that my hybrid with the dead battery is parked in our garage, and we have a serious problem.  We cannot get another car into the garage since my car is in the middle.  My family and I are not mechanically inclined, so we are not clear about the instructions for the battery located in the trunk of the car.  I am sure that it will all work out.  (My husband is currently calling the dealership since he has accepted that we cannot handle this on our own.)  I’ve learned some valuable lessons from this experience that are life lessons as well as vehicle maintenance lessons.

First, there are many things in life that are beyond our control.  No matter how hard we try to be in control, we have to accept things that are beyond us.  If we also accept that God is in control of us and the things that are beyond us, then we will be more at peace.  God is in control, and God will be with us in the situations that we cannot control.

Second, the difficulties in life are not only frustrations but they are also life lessons.  It is our responsibility to be open to the lessons that come with the problems in our lives.  We can become so wrapped up in the frustration and searching for the solution to a particular problem that we miss the life lesson.  It is up to each one of us to pay attention to the lessons that life is teaching us.

Third, most of us need more time to pause, reflect, and pray.  We get so involved with our  list of tasks and responsibilities that we don’t even not ice the proverbial roses, much less take the time to smell them.  Use the time given to you by the situations of life to appreciate life.

My battery is okay.  My husband and the dealership were helpful.  I’ve learned some lessons.  What is your day trying to teach you?

One thought on “Learning Lessons

Leave a Reply

