Comfort

Iced tea with lemon.

Image via Wikipedia

I have Lyme disease.  Definitely not fun.  One of the symptoms or side effects is that I have lost my appetite.  This is  not normal for me.  So, there is no comfort food that I want.  Food is often the way to comfort, but I just don’t want any.  Instead I have been incredibly thirsty.  What is a comfort drink?

For me, I have found comfort in the liquid of my childhood, the beverage of choice at the dinner table, at snack time, at Grandma’s house.  It is iced tea.  My grandmother worked at Lipton tea until she retired, so Lipton was always a part of our lives.  At the dinner table, we all had iced tea to drink.  There was no water or milk, just iced tea.  I did not even know that you could have other things to drink until I went to friends’ houses for dinner.

Yet, we are not tea drinkers at my house.  I have the required box of tea in the pantry, but it is still in its cellophane outer-wrapping.  My family does not drink tea.  Yet, while I have been sick, that is what I have wanted.  I even had to call my mom to ask how to make.  I knew the basics, but I did not know the correct proportions.

I suspect that the things of our childhood are more ingrained than we suspect.  I can remember not only the glasses of tea and my grandmother’s work place, but I can remember watching my mother make tea.  Before she started making it in the microwave, I remember the small pot the tea was boiled in on the stove.  I remember helping unwrap the tea bags from their individual wrappers.

I doubt that the tea really brought that much comfort by itself.  It was the connection to the memories of family.  It was the simple memories of my parents’ kitchen, my grandmother, and of the simplicity of childhood.  Those simple moments are what comfort us.  We need to create simple moments for ourselves and the children we know.  Creating simple moments does not take a master plan, but it takes a willingness to have moments with others.  It means pausing long enough to share in a moment rather than bustling from one activity to another.

Try to have a few moments.  Spend time with another person.  Sip a glass of tea, or coffee, or eat ice cream.  Share yourself.  The comfort is in that moment and for years to come for both you and the other person.

Leave a Reply

