God’s Gift

Blake Shelton performing.

Image via Wikipedia

Music often touches the soul in a way that words cannot.  Recently I saw the new Blake Shelton video, “God Gave Me You”.    This is a wonderful love song.  The song is a song of thanksgiving for the support of a loved one.  Yes, sometimes the loved one is a spouse, or a romantic love.  Sometimes it is the love of a stranger caring for us in our need.  Sometimes it is a friend who is there in our dark moments.  Sometimes it is a Christian reaching out in the love of Jesus Christ to help another know that they are loved.  We are called to be God’s gift in the life of others.  Sometimes we have direct relationship and sometime the relationship is indirect.  Sometimes it is sharing their life.  Sometimes it is financial support to make a better life.  We are called to be the light of Christ in the world.  How are you being the person this song is about?

God Gave Me You

I’ve been a walking heartache

I’ve made a mess of me

The person that I’ve been lately

Ain’t who I wanna be

But you stay here right beside me

And watch as the storm blows through

And I need you

Cause God gave me you for the ups and downs

God gave me you for the days of doubt

And for when I think I lost my way

There are no words here left to say, it’s true

God gave me you

Gave me you

There’s more here than what we’re seeing

A divine conspiracy

That you, an angel lovely

Could somehow fall for me

You’ll always be love’s great martyr

And I’ll be the flattered fool

And I need you

God gave me you for the ups and downs

God gave me you for the days of doubt

And for when I think I lost my way

There are no words here left to say, it’s true

God gave me you

On my own I’m only

Half of what I could be

I can’t do without you

We are stitched together

And what love has tethered

I pray we never undo

Cause God gave me you for the ups and downs

God gave me you for the days of doubt

God gave me you for the ups and downs

God gave me you for the days of doubt

And for when I think I lost my way

There are no words here left to say, it’s true

God gave me you, gave me you.

He gave me you.

Leave a Reply

