Shaving

English: Shaving cream prepared with a shaving...

Image via Wikipedia

Many adults shave some part of them, but there are some adults who only shave when they feel they must be prepared.  A female friend confided that she only shaves the bottom half of her calf in the winter, if she bothered to shave her legs at all.  Really?  What if you were in an accident?  What if the hospital staff had to undress you or see your naked, half-shaven leg?  How would you feel then?  Or, what if you were asked somewhere where a skirt or a dress was your only clothing options?  What if you had a surprise dinner invitation to a upscale restaurant with no time to go home.  A friend or spouse was brining your best dress .  What would happen then?  I did not ask my friend because I was more curious about how many people saw the bottom half of her calf.  She is tall, so maybe her legs show more than others when she wears pants.

 

Her grooming choice made me think about being prepared.  Her shortcut meant that she was not prepared for something wonderful, like a surprise evening out, or something difficult, like hospital visit.  The events of our life are often unexpected.  We need to be prepared for the possibilities.  Another friend was.  He was a cyclist.  He, and other cyclist, shave their legs.  This is to help in the event of an accident.  He was prepared.  It may have looked a little unusual while wearing shorts in t he summer, but he was ready for what may happen.

 

Each of us must choose how we are going to live.  We can live prepared for the unexpected, or we can choose to take shortcuts.  We can prepare for possibilities, or we can prepare for a life where very few surprises happen.  We can live ready for adventure, or we can take the easy way.  Jesus told us that we do not know the day or the hour when He will return.  We are encouraged to be prepared, in all sorts of ways.  Are you ready for whatever adventures may be waiting for you?  Have you shaved today?

One thought on “Shaving

  1. In the words of Bruce Springsteen, “There’s things that’ll knock you down you don’t even see comin.” Had that happen a few times, including a teasing little bout with a fake tumor 3 years ago this week. Long story, but it contrasts with what I saw on Hurricane Katrina with the Red Cross.

    For 2 weeks in the Gulf Coast in September ’05, I lived purely in the moment and I felt like I was running on all cylinders. It reminded me of a great quote from Robert E. Lee, “It is good that war is so terrible lest we grow too fond of it.”

    I guess that, for me, the synthesis of these experiences is that it’s hard to maintain a level of vigilance suitable for a crisis. Instead, I have crisis tools and keep them in good shape in a place where I can find them when I need them.

    Those high-severity/low-probability events are what cream us. I always wear my seat belt while driving and I wouldn’t disable my airbag even if I could, because car accidents are high-probability and high-severity. Low-severity events don’t require many resources to overcome.

    It’s hard to remain prepared for an event that is severe but unlikely.

    I also want to know what’s a crisis and what isn’t (another good lesson from Katrina) so that I’m not shaving my legs in preparation for a mosquito bite.

    Hmm, anyway, thanks Rev. Dr. Sandi, for getting me to thinking.

Leave a Reply

