Look At Me

Eye!LOOK AT ME!  I am worth noticing!  Don’t just glance at me.  I want you to LOOK AT ME.  Don’t look around me.  I am standing right here.  I need you to acknowledge my existence.  I am a person of worth.  LOOK AT ME.  We are breathing the same air.  We are in the same space.  While I may be surrounded by people, I need someone to LOOK AT ME.  I am not seeking attention.  I am seeking connection with another human being.  I don’t want to take your time or your money.  LOOK AT ME.  I need someone to see that I am a person.  I need confirmation that I am a part of this community.  I need to know that I count.  Sometimes I am hurting.  Sometimes I am joyful.  Sometimes I feel alone.  Sometimes I feel afraid.  Sometimes I am happy.  Sometimes I am sad.  LOOK AT ME.  I want you to see me and how I am doing today.  I don’t know how to ask for connection, to build a friendship, or talk about what is going on inside of me.  LOOK AT ME.  I worry that my existence is inconsequential.  I wonder if there is more to life that cursory glances and pretending not to see. LOOK AT ME.  I want to show you that I am a real person needing to connect with those around me.  I need to know that I am a part of something more than just me.  LOOK AT ME.  I have been told that I am created in the image of God.  Why would you ignore God?  LOOK AT ME.  See me for who I am, instead of how the world chooses to define me.  Know that I am more than the sum of my parts.  I am fearfully and wonderful made, just like you.  LOOK AT ME.  Show me that we are part of God’s kingdom.  Show me that we are brothers and sisters in Christ.  LOOK AT ME.  Take the time to really look at me.  Show me Christ living in you.

One thought on “Look At Me

  1. Pingback: Created in The Image of God « mindfulconsideration

Leave a Reply

