Little Things

Pay-at-the-pump gasoline pump in Indiana, Unit...

Image via Wikipedia

I recently went to New Jersey.  In New Jersey, it is illegal for a person to pump his/her own gas.  Therefore, every gas station has pump attendants.  I don’t think I have ever had someone pump my gas for me that was not a friend or relative.  The pump attendant swiped my credit card and filled my vehicle.  It made my day.  The pump attendant and the cashier inside, who sold me a coffee, did not know why that was the law.  The pump attendant said that it was a good job even if he did not know why.  He grinned at my exuberance over the concept.  It was an ordinary event for him and others that live in New Jersey.  (He may also have noticed the twang in my accent, but he did not say anything.)

The ordinary things that we take for granted can be extraordinary to other people.  Acts of care and kindness can change  a person’s day, attitude or emotional state.  We who are a part of a faith community are part of a community that cares about us and loves us.  There are people who are truly concerned about us.  There are people who do things for us all the time.  It seems ordinary to them to reach out a hand of friendship.  It seems ordinary to them to pray for us.  It seems ordinary to them to share their lives with us. For others it can be extraordinary.

What can you do to make a difference in someone else’s day?  Can you offer help?  Can you offer a cup of cold water to someone who is thirsty?  Can you offer positive encouragement?  Remember that Jesus told us that whatever we do to the least of these, we are doing to Jesus.  How are you going to change the world around you?

Leave a Reply

