Do Something

Jesus Christ Crucifix

Jesus Christ Crucifix (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Have you ever noticed how much we can talk about something without actually doing anything about it?  I remember one incident in particular.  I was in the Emergency Room.  I was having my first and only gall bladder attack.  The health care professionals were waiting to decide if I would be having surgery that day.  I was miserable.  I was in that state where you are wishing for everyone to go away and stop talking.  My husband was with me, and he was quiet.  However, I was separated from the next patient by a thin  curtain.  I never saw her and the woman with her.  I just heard their conversation.

 

She was talking and talking and talking about various lifestyle changes she should make.  The woman with her was agreeing with the assessments.  As I listened to this other patient talk about a need to drink more water, eat more fiber, etc. I wondered how likely she would be to make the life style changes.  She is probably like most of us.  We talk far more than we do.  We say that we want to make life style changes, but we don’t actually make them.  We stay that we will keep in touch, but we do not put forth the effort to remain in contact.  We say that we want to be a disciple of Jesus Christ, but we do not do anything about it.

 

During this week before Easter, we remember what God did and does for us in the person of Jesus.  We recall his passion and death which was an act of grace for us.  As we think about this, let us do more than just think and talk.  Let’s do something in response to God’s love and action.

Leave a Reply

