People Notice

My mother is a regular Facebook lurker.  I have never actually seen her post anything, but she does keep me up-to-date on a lot of people that we know.  Given these updates, it is no surprise that she looks at my Facebook.  In a recent phone call she mentioned that I had not posted about worship at my church.  Apparently, I always put something on Facebook inviting people to worship at my church.

 

This motherly observation got me to thinking.  People notice what we do and say.  They may not always voice their observations, like my mother, but they do notice.  They notice if we are not inviting them to worship.  They notice even if they do not plan to join us for worship.  They notice Facebook status updates, but they also notice our lives.  They notice if  our lives are a testimony to the faith we profess.  They notice if our lives are lived in praise of God.  They notice if we live our faith.

 

Next time you are tempted to skip doing something, remember that people notice.  People notice if you do not invite them to church.  People notice if you profess faith, but then you constantly worry.  People notice if you put more value in things than relationships.  People notice.  What are they noticing about you?

these updates, it is no surprise that she looks at my Facebook.  In a recent phone call she mentioned that I had not posted about worship at my church.  Apparently, I always put something on Facebook inviting people to worship at my church.

 

This motherly observation got me to thinking.  People notice what we do and say.  They may not always voice their observations, like my mother, but they do notice.  They notice if we are not inviting them to worship.  They notice even if they do not plan to join us for worship.  They notice Facebook status updates, but they also notice our lives.  They notice if  our lives are a testimony to the faith we profess.  They notice if our lives are lived in praise of God.  They notice if we live our faith.

 

Next time you are tempted to skip doing something, remember that people notice.  People notice if you do not invite them to church.  People notice if you profess faith, but then you constantly worry.  People notice if you put more value in things than relationships.  People notice.  What are they noticing about you?

Leave a Reply

