Endings make way for Beginnings

Heiwa elementary school %u5E73%u548C%u5C0F%u5B...

Heiwa elementary school %u5E73%u548C%u5C0F%u5B66%u6821 _18 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

School is out for the summer!  At least school is out in my community.  The high school graduation will be Saturday.  The  familiar routine of the school year is temporarily suspended.  I was even told by one rising 5th grader that she had turned her brain off for the summer.  For many there is joy, celebration, and even relief.  There is also sadness.  The end of the school year is an ending.  For some it is the ending of a phase of life.  For others it is loss of the comfortable and familiar way of doing things. It is difficult to face an unknown next step for many students.  It may also be difficult to face the seemingly endless expanse of summer vacation when friends are not as present as during the school year.

 

The end of the school year has me thinking about endings in general.  Endings usually make us sad for what we are losing.  Endings make us afraid of what is going to happen next.  Yet, if we do not have an ending their is no new beginnings.  For example, if we do not have an ending to our elementary school days, then we can never begin our middle school days.  The high school graduation leads to adulthood.  While endings are moments of saying goodbye to a stage of life, they are also opening our lives to  a new beginning.

 

What needs to have an ending in your life so that you can experience a new beginning?

4 thoughts on “Endings make way for Beginnings

  1. I was just RIFed from my job as a school psychologist and I learned of that on the day before the last day of school. I cleaned out my office, cleaned my computer, handed in my keys and identification badge because I knew that I would not be coming back in the fall, and that knowledge was a blessing as I was able to say goodbye, take what was mine, leave what was not.

    The job was not a great situation for me but I would have come back in the fall, anyway, with the economy being what it is. The loss was a shock at first, now it mostly hurts, but come fall, I believe that I am going to start in a new school, a better fit, take what I have learned and sell it to folks who really, really want what I offer.

    It’s tough when the other staff leave all bubbly – they’re just getting a long summer break – and I know that I’m not coming back. It’s very lonely.

    The lightning bolt that kills a shade tree is a curse to that tree but a blessing to the sapling that otherwise would have died in the shade. Both perspectives are real and it’s hard to understand.

    Anyway, thanks for this.

  2. I’m back to this for pretty decent reasons. I keep hearing that when something leaves, God replaces it with something twice as good and that we should, in faith, expect that. I caught 5 minutes of Smiling Joel Osteen saying it a few weeks ago, but I’ve heard it a few other times and places since then.

    I’m catching this theme in a few ways right now. Any thoughts about the concept?

    1. There can be no resurrection without death. In my own experience, I can see that when something dies, then there is the opportunity for new life. There is sometimes a season in between the new and the old, but God has always brought the new into my life. It may not be what I expected or even thought I wanted, but I could see, sometimes with hindsight, how it was better. Some who are prosperity theologians seem to imply an instant replacement, but the in between times allow us to rest, grieve, and prepare for a the new thing.

Leave a Reply

